Cooking With Kurma

Kurma Dasa

Ask Kurma - Answers

Cooking With Kurma > Ask Kurma > Answers

QuestionHi,
Love your website! I am looking for vegetarian gelatine. Can you suggest any suppliers?"
Thank you,
SRP, Malaysia

AnswerDear SRP,
I am glad you like my website. Tell your friends!

Regarding vegetarian gelatine, well, as you know, gelatine comes from the horns, bones, and hooves of slaughterhouse animals. So there is no actual vegetarian gelatine, but there are things which do the same thing. The best is a substance called agar-agar. It is available in strips or pieces or powder from Asian shops. Chinese suppliers will have it. It is a seaweed-derived substance which makes clear jellies and sets things just like gelatine. Some chefs even prefer it to gelatine since it gives a lovely sheen.

I hope this helps.

Previous Answer >>